Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Joe Goddard 2024

Jungle, Ibibio Sound Machine and Alabaster DePlume feature on Joe Goddard's forthcoming album, Harmonics

18 April 2024, 10:38 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Hot Chip's Joe Goddard has announced his third solo album, Harmonics, alongside the opening track "Moments Die" featuring Barrie.

The voice of Ibibio Sound Machine’s Eno Williams rides the afro-house groove of “Progress”, while “When Love’s Out of Fashion” features UK rapper Oranje. Former Wild Beasts frontman Hayden Thorpe lends his vocal to “Summon”, and Joe’s Hot Chip bandmates Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle both appear on the half-step ballad “Heal Your Mind”. Other guests on Harmonics include Tom McFarland of Jungle, Bronx-raised singer Fiorious (on recent single “New World (Flow)”), Guinean vocalist Falle Nioke, and UK jazz musician Alabaster DePlume.

“With all the different people on this record, I’ve been working on how to respect the contribution they make and not trying to be the one who has to lead everything,” Joe says. “That follows through into the songs where I’m singing. I tried to write words without having too much of an idea of what I’m trying to express, where I’m just writing a stream of consciousness.”

The openness towards collaboration and the acceptance of people’s individual human nuances is where Harmonics gets its name from. The history of dance music is replete with words like ‘ecstatic’, ‘euphoric’, and ‘uplifting’ – but here, those words do not describe hands-in-the-air clichés, but the spiritual and human side that Joe explores in his music. “Part of the reason why I wanted to call this Harmonics is that I was trying to create something very inclusive and empathetic, something harmonious,” Joe says. “There’s a lot of aggressive division in the world, and I wanted this to be loving, romantic – and fun... This idea of trying to divorce your conscious mind from the music-making process – not trying to force meaning on the music or your collaborators, allowing that process to be very empathetic," he adds.


  1. Moments Die featuring Barrie
  2. Progress featuring Ibibio Sound Machine
  3. Destiny featuring Findia
  4. New World (Flow) featuring Fiorious
  5. When Love’s Out Of Fashion featuring Oranje
  6. Follow You
  7. On My Mind
  8. Summon featuring Hayden Thorpe
  9. When You Call featuring Findia
  10. Out At Night
  11. Mountains featuring Alexis Taylor and Al Doyle
  12. Ghosts featuring Tom McFarland
  13. Miles Away featuring Falle Nioke
  14. Revery featuring Alabaster DePlume

Harmonics is set for release on 12 July via Domino, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next