Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
John Grant Art of the Lie

John Grant announces his Ivor Guest-produced album, The Art Of The Lie

19 March 2024, 15:27 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

John Grant has announced his sixth studio album, The Art Of The Lie. To accompany the announcement Grant has shared a first single, “It’s A Bitch”.

Commenting on the track Grant says: “It was a blast making this track which is just about having fun with words, synths and dope rhythms and bass lines and also making fun of post-COVID malaise. Plus, people get to ponder what a ‘hesher’ is. I loved going to the arcade in the 80s and watching smokin’-hot heshers hold court while playing Tempest, Stargate, Robotron and Asteroids, and while also blasting Iron Maiden and Rush on their Walkmans.”

John Grant began thinking about The Art of The Lie in the Autumn of 2022. Earlier that year, John had been introduced to Ivor Guest, producer and composer at Grace Jones’ Southbank show, the finale of her Meltdown Festival. They began talking about two records Guest had worked on – Hurricane for Jones and Prohibition for Brigitte Fontaine. “Grace and Brigitte are two very big artists for me,” says Grant. “I love the albums he did for them. Hurricane is an indispensable piece of Grace’s catalogue.” An idea was sparked. “I said, I really think you should do this next record with me. He said, I think you’re right.”

Grant likens the musical flavours of The Art of the Lie to the sumptuous Vangelis soundtrack for Bladerunner or the Carpenters if John Carpenter were also a member. While undeniably a John Grant record, nestling humour into tragedy, bleeding anger into compassion, there is a musical ambition and nerve to The Art of the Lie which offsets its most political and personal moments – tying childhood trauma to hardened adult after-effects, twinning both to the political malaise of America 2024, a country being drawn to the precipice of its own destruction. “We were allowed to feel like we belonged for a couple of seconds,” says Grant. “Not anymore.”

Grant had been thinking of records that had a profound effect on him while making The Art Of The Lie. “The first time I heard "Time Its Time", the last song on The Colour Of Spring by Talk Talk; or "The Night of the Swallow" by Kate Bush, on The Dreaming; or some of Jane Siberry’s material on The Speckless Sky or anything by Cocteau Twins or Dead Can Dance; those were important moments for me in music. And of course there is a bit of the Devo spirit in everything I do in some way or another. There’s a lot of amazing humour in their music but they were also serious as a heart attack. I guess this is one of the important themes in my life; it’s about moments and being able to recognize them and be in them while they are happening in spite of whatever else is going on.


  1. All That School For Nothing
  2. Marbles
  3. Father
  4. Mother And Son
  5. Twistin Scriptures
  6. Meek AF
  7. It’s A Bitch
  8. Daddy
  9. The Child Catcher
  10. Laura Lou
  11. Zeitgeist

The Art Of The Lie due for release on 14 June via Bella Union and available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next