Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Jessica Pratt 2024

Jessica Pratt announces her fourth studio album, Here in the Pitch

13 February 2024, 14:00 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Jessica Pratt has announced her fourth album – and first in five years – Here in the Pitch. Alongside this, she has shared the lead single, "Life Is".

"In a way, it’s kind of a false flag", Pratt admits of the new single, which is a widescreen introduction to the album, considering the rest of the record is just as emotionally intimate and stark as fans have come to expect. "But I also feel like it’s a statement of intention".

"Life came and went and you didn’t land where you thought you would. It’s the third act and you’re trying to climb back on the horse before it gets dark," Pratt continues. "I became obsessed with figures emblematic of the dark side of the Californian dream while making this record", Pratt explains, noting the influence of Los Angeles’ strange, seedy history and the bleak end of the hippy era.

The forthcoming album, Here in the Pitch is set to arrive five years after her 2019 breakthrough, Quiet Signs. Working once again at Gary’s Electric Studio in Brooklyn with her trusted collaborators — multi-instrumentalist/engineer Al Carlson and keyboardist Matt McDermott — Pratt enlisted the rhythm duo of bassist Spencer Zahn and percussionist Mauro Refosco (David Byrne, Atoms for Peace) to help realise her vision, alongside contributions from Ryley Walker, Peter Mudge (Mac Miller, Kendrick Lamar), and Alex Goldberg.

Additionally, Pratt has announced a tour this spring and summer throughout Europe and the USA which includes a show at London's Union Chapel on 6 June.


  1. Life Is
  2. Better Hate
  3. World on a String
  4. Get Your Head Out
  5. By Hook or by Crook
  6. Nowhere It Was
  7. Empires Never Know
  8. Glances
  9. The Last Year

Here in the Pitch will be released on 3 May via City Slang (Mexican Summer in the US), and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next