Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Jess Williamson Time Aint Accidental Press Photo Credit to Jackie Lee Young

Jess Williamson announces new album with lead cut "Hunter"

28 March 2023, 14:37 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Jess Williamson shares news of her new solo album Time Ain't Accidental, and delivers "Hunter" as the first outing from the record.

"Hunter" is Williamson's first new material since last year's I Walked With You A Ways album as Plains, her collaborative project with Waxahatchee's Katie Crutchfield, and arrives with a Rocco Rivetti-directed video.

"If you’ve been ghosted, if you’ve chased after an unavailable person, if you’ve been given crumbs when you need a full meal, "Hunter" is a song for you," Williamson explains. "I wrote it during a time when I was heartbroken over a breakup and experimenting with dating in Los Angeles. That era felt like being thrown to the wolves, but it helped me to see myself and what I really wanted more clearly. This song is an anthem for the true lovers out there, anyone who is hunting for the real thing."

Time Ain’t Accidental will follow Williamson's 2020 solo album Sorceress, and started with her tracking demos based on her dating experiences amidst the uncertainty of the pandemic using an iPhone drum machine app. She then took the demos to Brad Cook (who produced Plains' debut album) in Durham, North Carolina, who encouraged Williamson to keep the drum machine app beats, teaming them with banjos and steel guitars.


  1. Time Ain’t Accidental
  2. Hunter
  3. Chasing Spirits
  4. Tobacco Two Step
  5. God in Everything
  6. A Few Seasons
  7. Topanga Two Step
  8. Something’s In the Way
  9. Stampede
  10. I’d Come to Your Call
  11. Roads

"Hunter" is out now. Jess Williamson's Time Ain't Accidental album will arrive via Mexican Summer on 9 June, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next