Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Famous debut album

Famous announces forthcoming debut album, Party Album

19 June 2024, 12:22 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Famous – AKA Jack Merrett – has announced details of debut album, Party Album, and has shared two new singles, “God Hold You” and “It Goes On Forever”.

Coming to prominence as a part of the celebrated South-London Brixton Windmill scene alongside Black Country, New Road and Black Midi, the group quickly drew recognition for its wildly varied and acclaimed EPs, England (2019) and The Valley, which was released in 2021.

“[After The Valley], I fell into something of a crisis of confidence. I began to question whether this was really what I wanted to do”. The rumination coincided with a broader personal crisis that appeared to be telling the twenty-six year old that perhaps the party was over. Merrett became fixated on “what album I would make if I wasn’t concerned about anyone but me. This became a jumping-off-point for all of us”.

The resulting answer, Famous’s debut album, Party Album, is the record Famous has been threatening to make for eight years – an album that Merrett intimates is a lot like Famous itself, “a long coming-of-age drama that always threatens to end but goes on forever”.

The album announcement comes ahead of a sold out show at London's Brixton Windmill tomorrow night, and with a newly announced UK tour scheduled for later this year, with dates in Glasgow, Manchester, Bristol, and London.


  1. Boxing Day
  2. What Are You Doing The Rest Of Your Life
  3. Warm Springs
  4. God Hold You
  5. It Goes On Forever
  6. The Destroyer
  7. 2004
  8. Leaving Tottenham
  9. Love Will Find A Way

Party Album, is set to be released on 11 October via untitled (recs).

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next