Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Dawn richard spencer zahn press shot 2022 clifford usher

Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn announce debut collaborative album and share first four songs

30 August 2022, 14:20 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn have announced their debut collaborative album Pigments, and have shared Movement 1 which is made up of four tracks.

Pigments: Movement 1 is made up of the album's first four songs - "Coral", "Sandstone", "Indigo" and "Vantablack". "Vantablack" is accompanied by a video directed by Richard, marking her directorial debut.

Richard and Zahn first collaborated on his 2018 debut album People of the Dawn, and soon after they decided to work on a new project, which is a tribute to Richard's father Frank Richard, the lead singer of Chocolate Milk. Richard explains that the songs tell a story of "someone painting with broken brushes." She adds, "I felt like the tools that I and other people like me were dealt weren’t shiny. Yet we still painted these beautiful pictures. This album is what it means to be a dreamer and finally reach a place where you’ve decided to love the pigments that you have."

Pigments features contributions from Stuart Bogie (clarinets), Mike Haldeman (guitars, sampled electronic instruments), Malcolm Parson (cello, violin, viola), Dave Scalia (drums), Kirk Schoenherr (electric guitar), Jas Walton (tenor saxophone, flute), and Doug Wieselman (clarinets).


  1. Coral
  2. Sandstone
  3. Indigo
  4. Vantablack
  5. Sienna
  6. Cerulean
  7. Opal
  8. Saffron
  9. Crimson
  10. Cobalt
  11. Umber

Pigments: Movement 1 is out now. Dawn Richard and Spencer Zahn's Pigments album will be released on 21 October via Merge Records, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next