Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Little dragon slugs of love album shot

Damon Albarn and JID to feature on Little Dragon's forthcoming album Slugs of Love

03 May 2023, 15:01 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Little Dragon announce their seventh studio album Slugs of Love, and share new single "Kenneth".

"Kenneth" is a tribute to a childhood friend. “It's about friendship and love” the band explain, “and the dirt of getting caught in bitterness and taking the wrong turn mentally”. The album also contains the previously released titular single “Slugs Of Love”.

The band have once again teamed up with Unlimited Time Only (who have previously worked with Khruangbin, Leon Bridges, Teva and more) for a playful video to accompany the track.

Slugs of Love was recorded in the musical oasis of their Gothenburg Studio – the same studio they have worked in for almost 20 years – and follows on from their previous full-length album, 2020's New Me, Same Us.

Describing the process behind the album, they explain that “we’ve been exploring different ways to collaborate and communicate. Dissolving patterns and making new ones. Nurturing our ability to curiously press down keys, to bang – sometimes hard sometimes gently – on different things, strumming strings, recording sounds and investigating the limits for how much or little a sound can be tweaked… Together we have developed, replayed, danced to, cried and laughed to this music as it has evolved forwards, backwards, sideways and all around, but now finally as a complete masterpiece… This feels like our finest work yet. We are very proud.”


1. Amöban
2. Frisco
3. Slugs of Love
4. Disco Dangerous
5. Lily’s Call
6. Stay (feat. JID)
7. Gold
8. Kenneth
9. Glow (feat. Damon Albarn)
10. Tumbling Dice
11. Easy Falling

"Kenneth" is out now. Slugs Of Love arrives on 7 July via Ninja Tune and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next