Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Dave Rowntree control room red lighting

Blur's Dave Rowntree announces debut solo album Radio Songs

26 September 2022, 17:42 | Written by Cerys Kenneally

Blur drummer Dave Rowntree has announced his debut solo album Radio Songs, and has released new track "Devil's Island" to accompany the news.

Following the release of his debut solo single "London Bridge" in July, Rowntree has shared "Devil's Island", the second outing from his debut solo album Radio Songs, which is produced by Leo Abrahams.

"I grew up in the UK in the 1970s and while there were definitely good points about the decade, I also remember how toxic it could be," Rowntree says of the new song. "The country was deeply divided, and racism and misogyny were the norm. The economy was a basket case, and at one point we had to be bailed out by the IMF [International Monetary Fund]. However, listening to some people, you'd think it was a golden age to which we should yearn to return. This song is a note to self, to remind me how far we've come in forty years."


  1. Devil’s Island
  2. Downtown
  3. London Bridge
  4. 1000 Miles
  5. HK
  6. Tape Measure
  7. Machines Like Me
  8. Black Sheep
  9. Volcano
  10. Who’s Asking

"Devil's Island" is out now. Dave Rowntree's Radio Songs album will arrive via Cooking Vinyl on 23 January 2023, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next