Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Angel Olsen and Sharon Van Etten appear on Este Haim-executive produced soundtrack

26 April 2023, 13:08 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Este Haim has been given the responsibility as executive music producer for the National Geographic limited series A Small Light.

The series is based on the life story of Miep Gies, a Dutch woman of Austrian descent that helped hide Anne Frank and her family in their Amsterdam attic.

The soundtrack curated and co-produced by Este Haim – A Small Light: Songs From the Limited Series – features a collection of cover songs by Danielle Haim, Kamasi Washington, Moses Sumney, Orville Peck, Sharon Van Etten (ft. Michael Imperioli), Angel Olsen, Weyes Blood, Remi Wolf, and King Princess.

“I can’t begin to express what an honor and a privilege it is to be a part of this series, especially as my first role as an EMP," Este says. "Miep’s story is one of a modern woman standing up for what is right, and that should continue to inspire all of us. I am so thrilled to be able to help bring this to life through the power of music.”

Two songs from the soundtrack will arrive on streaming services each week, starting with Doris Day’s “Till We Meet Again” by Danielle Haim and Charlie Parker’s “Cheryl” by Kamasi Washington on 5 May.

A Small Light: Songs From the Limited Series arrives on 23 May. The series premieres 1 May on National Geographic, Nat Geo WILD and Lifetime. Episodes will stream the next day on Disney+ and Hulu.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next