Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Alessandro Asso Stefana by Roberto Cavalli

Alessandro Stefana announces eponymous PJ Harvey exec-produced album

27 March 2024, 15:27 | Written by Tyler Damara Kelly

Guitarist, producer and composer Alessandro “Asso” Stefana has announced his eponymous solo album, and shares first single, "The House".

Alessandro Stefana has featured on PJ Harvey’s The Hope Six Demolition Project, Mike Patton’s Mondo Cane, Calexico's El Mirador, Micah P. Hinson's I Lie to You, and Penguin Cafe's Rain Before Seven.

“This mysterious and beautiful music by Alessandro Stefana entrances me. Its fragility and tenderness bring comfort and understanding. It reflects the unique sensitivity of its creator, who has drawn on his experience to bring this profoundly moving, and life affirming record to the world," says executive producer Polly Jean Harvey.

On the second half of the record Roscoe Holcomb’s voice appears, taken from the precious Smithsonian Folkways archives. “It is a powerful and moving testimony to a bygone era… I have always been fascinated by the idea of mixing folk, a music so intimately linked to the land, with something that goes beyond the boundaries of the genre,” Stefana says.

One of his aims for this album was for it to feel “suspended between earth and sky” - the interplay between decades old recordings with new improvisations evokes feelings of being grounded and untethered at the same time.


  1. Fading Away
  2. Farewell To Dust
  3. Out Of The Blue
  4. The Wandering Minstrel
  5. The House
  6. Born and Raised in Covington
  7. I Am A Man of Constant Sorrow
  8. Moonshiner
  9. Continental Spazio

Alessandro “Asso” Stefana, is due for release on 17 May via Ipecac Recordings, and is available to pre-order now.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next