Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit
Joan as police woman damned devotion artwork 3600x3600

Joan As Police Woman announces new album with the stately, swaying "Warning Bell"

02 November 2017, 10:00 | Written by Andrew Hannah

Joan As Police Woman is back with a new album in February of 2018, the first from Joan Wasser's project since 2014's The Classic - and we're bringing you the first single from it today.

Titled Damned Devotion, the first track is a sensuous and swaying number called "Warning Bell".

There's a real, stripped-down '70s feel to Joan As Police Woman's newest track; it's powered by flat drums ticking along at waltz speed, a gorgeous synth buzz and lush major piano notes. As always, Wasser's soft, heavenly voice dominates but this time around there's an added open fragility which perfectly matches the sparse nature of the song.

“’Warning Bell’ is about being a romantic and the naiveté that goes along with it," says Wasser. "While I don’t ever want to lose that innocence, I’ve been in situations where I wish there had been an alarm to wake me from my dream state.”

Live dates will be announced soon but for now "Warning Bell" is a pretty special opening. The track list for Damned Devotion is below.

1. Wonderful

2. Warning Bell

3. Tell Me

4. Steed For Jean Genet

5. Damned Devotion

6. The Silence

7. Valid Jogger

8. Rely On

9. What Was It Like

10. Talk About It Later

11. Silly Me

12. I Don't Mind

"Warning Bell" is taken from Damned Devotion, out 9 February via Play It Again Sam.

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next