Search The Line of Best Fit
Search The Line of Best Fit

Iggy Pop and Josh Homme to release new album, listen to first single "Gardenia"

22 January 2016, 10:20 | Written by Laurence Day

Iggy Pop and Josh Homme have announced a new album called Post Pop Depression, and revealed the lead single "Gardenia".

The band also includes Arctic Monkeys drummer Matt Helders and Homme's Queens Of The Stone Age bandmate Dean Fertita. It was recorded in secret, away from prying industry eyes, and was paid for by Homme and Pop themselves.

Speaking about the album's themes, Pop says: “What happens after your years of service? And where is the honor?”

Homme spoke of the record's cathartic qualities, saying: “The fact that I had this to work on, it saved me.”

The album entered production shortly after the terrorists attacks in Paris last November. Eagles Of Death Metal - of which Homme is a member - were performing at the Bataclan in the French capital when it was attacked, killing dozens.

Find out more about the project from Pop and Homme in their interview with The New York Times.

Post Pop Depression is out 18 March via Rekords Rekords/Loma Vista/Caroline International.

Live dates are apparently in the works, says Homme: “There won’t be hardly any shows, and they won’t be in big places, and you won’t be able to get a ticket.”

Both Pop and Homme star in new rock "fairytale" Gutterdämmerung.

Listen to "Gardenia" below.


1. Break Into Your Heart
2. Gardenia
3. American Valhalla
4. In The Lobby
5. Sunday
6. Vulture
7. German Days
8. Chocolate Drops
9. Paraguay

Share article

Get the Best Fit take on the week in music direct to your inbox every Friday

Read next