‘Knotty Pine’ by The Dirty Projectors and David Byrne is just one of the many, many highlights on this fabulous set and has just been made available as a free download.

Also, as of yesterday, 4AD began a track-by-track premiere of the record. From January 15 through February 15, each track, in order will be streamed for one day only at www.myspace.com/DarkWasTheNight as well as on the relevant band’s MySpace page.

Tracks to look out for are Antony Hegarty’s stirring take on the early Dylan classic ‘I Was Young When I Left Home’, ‘Cello Song’ by The Books and Jose Gonzalez, ‘Deep Blue Sea’ from Grizzly Bear and a cover of Nina Simone’s ‘Feeling Good’ by My Brightest Diamond – which really shouldn’t work but does in a quite fantastic way. Oh, and there is a stunning reworking of Bright Eyes’ ‘Lua’ where Coner Oberst is joined by Gillian Welch on vocals. Basically, there isn’t a duff track over the whole 2 discs. Definitely an essential purchase for 2009 and for a great charity to boot.

Tracklist in full:


  1. “Knotty Pine” – Dirty Projectors + David Byrne
  2. “Cello Song” – The Books featuring Joses Gonzalez
  3. “Train Song” – Feist and Ben Gibbard
  4. “Brackett, WI” – Bon Iver
  5. “Deep Blue Sea” – Grizzly Bear
  6. “So Far Around The Bend” – The National
  7. “Tightrope” – Yeasayer
  8. “Feeling Good” – My Brightest Diamond
  9. “Dark Was The Night” – Kronos Quartet
  10. “I Was Young When I Left Home” – Antony with Bryce Dessner
  11. “Big Red Machine” – Justin Vernon + Aaron Dessner
  12. “Sleepless” – The Decemberists
  13. “Die” – Iron & Wine
  14. “Service Bell” – Grizzly Bear + Feist
  15. “You Are The Blood” – Sufjan Stevens


  1. “Well-Alright” – Spoon
  2. “Lenin” – Arcade Fire
  3. “Mimizan” – Beirut
  4. “El Caporal” – My Morning Jacket
  5. “Inspiration Information” – Sharon Jones & the Dap-Kings
  6. “With A Girl Like You” – Dave Sitek
  7. “Blood Pt. 2″ – Buck 65 Remix (featuring Sufjan Stevens and Serengeti)
  8. “Hey, Snow White” – The New Pornographers
  9. “Gentle Hour” – Yo La Tengo
  10. “Amazing Grace” – Cat Power
  11. “Happiness” – Riceboy Sleeps
  12. “Another Saturday” – Stuart Murdoch
  13. “The Giant Of Illinois” – Andrew Bird
  14. “Lua” – Conor Oberst with Gillian Welch
  15. “When The Road Runs Out” – Blonde Redhead & Devastations
  16. “Love Vs. Porn” – Kevin Drew