10. ‘Never Get Old’ from Reality (2003)

It starts out as a ‘Fame’ era funk-along by numbers but then morphs into a stadium rock stomper with Bowie bellowing out ecstatically that “there’s never going to be enough sex”.

9. ‘The Motel’ from Outside (1995)

Epic brooding slow burning balladry perfectly utilising his long time piano collaborator Mike Garson as Bowie tells us “there is no hell like an old hell”.

8. ‘Everyone Says “Hi”‘ from Heathen (2002)

Essentially a lovely variation of the “standard David Bowie single” he’s made every couple of years since Absolute Beginners but this one gives Bowie a chance to wave at members of the audience when he plays it live and go on about his “big fat dog”.

7. ‘Ian Fish, U.K. Heir’ from The Buddha of Suburbia (1993)

Bowie has been pioneering instrumentals since Low in 1977 and despite the fact that this one – made for the BBC series The Buddha of Suburbia – doesn’t fly off into space like the industrial drones of the past it maintains a delicate beauty and a frailty right down to the sad crackle of static over the whole track.

6. ‘Thursday’s Child’ from hours… (1999)

Bowie has always been good at reflection and contemplating time, aging and existence. The video to ‘Thursday’s Child’ is simply stunning.

  • <
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • >